NC to select candidates based on capacity and popularity

2070 असोज 8 गते 19:07 मा प्रकाशित

SEPT 24, KATHMANDU.The Nepali Congress Parliamentary Committee meeting today began works on preparing the criteria and procedure for selecting the candidates who would be running in the forthcoming Constituent Assembly (CA) election on behalf the party.

The party is preparing the criteria and the procedure taking into consideration the view of a majority of the party cadres that it should provide tickets to only such persons who are popular, qualified, capable and made continuous contribution to the party and based on the recommendation of the party’s regional committees.

Committee member Arjun Narsingh KC said that today’s meeting held discussions as to how individuals making contribution to the different national sectors could be included and their representation ensured.

Intensive discussions are on regarding the principles as to how people contributing to the national life from different professions like medical, engineering, teaching, trade union, journalism and art and culture, and women, indigenous nationalities and Dalits could be included in this process, he added.

KC said first the candidates for the 19 remote districts would be selected first after formulating the criteria and the procedure for candidate selection.

He added that the process of selecting the candidates would be finalized by September 28.

The Nepali Congress Central Committee on Monday constituted the parliamentary committee which is a powerful body in the party responsible for selecting candidates for the Constituent Assembly election. It also determined the procedure for selecting candidates for the first-past-the-post and proportional election systems.

As per the procedure, the basis for selecting the candidates are people who are popular and capable of winning the election, those from the martyrs’ families and those who have worked actively for the party during the conflict period.

The parliamentary committee comprises party president Sushil Koirala, senior leader Sher Bahadur Deuba, vice-president Ram Chandra Poudel, general secretaries Prakash Man Singh and Krishna Prasad Sitaula, treasurer Chitralekha Yadav, co-general secretary Purna Bahadur Khadka and central committee members Dr Ram Sharan Mahat, Arjun Narsingh KC, Gopalman Shrestha, Bimalendra Nidhi, Sujata Koirala, Ananda Prasad Dhungana and Farmullah Mansoor.

The meeting also instructed the party leaders and cadres who have been making a beeline at the top leaders’ residences in the capital lobbying for party tickets for candidacy to go back to their respective districts and villages and work with full strength for election. RSS

अनलाइनखबरको एन्ड्रोइड एपका लागि यहाँ क्लिक गर्नुहोस् । तपाईं हामीसंग फेसबुकट्वीटरमार्फत् पनि जोडिन सक्नुहुन्छ ।